87/Unified mailbox ft. Gmail

kshitija bhosale
2 min readFeb 11, 2023

--

Using color coded side bars to highlight which mail came into which mailbox

Gmail is arguably one of my top apps. My friends and I used to mail each other MP3s of songs we liked when we didn’t have phones and you couldn’t pay me to tell you what Spotify was. I love Gmail. It’s the one piece of software that everyone needs, except maybe Microsoft Word and PowerPoint of course.

Ok, so here’s a list of ideas I put together, already shortened down by some feedback from my friends, which was enlightening, because Snigdha told me that some of the changes I included in here already exist! Everyday you learn something new 😂

  • Allow users to save/pin important emails and threads for easy access
  • Add the ability to add notes and comments to emails
  • Creating a unified mailbox for all your email IDs (Now, I know the mobile version of this exists, BUT it doesn’t let you see which email you got on which email account, which is confusing and misleading.)
  • Allow users to unsend their mails for an extended, but limited time
  • Letting users edit mails they’ve sent, but with a “Edited” mark showing up like on Discord or Telegram
  • Allow users to set up automatic email reminders/Task alarms from mails

Now, I’m not going to mock all these up; I’m really tired and I want to do this justice and actually problem-solve, not just show work. So here’s the one prompt I picked from my list and tried my best to visually present.

I want to work on all these ideas and see how they work together. It will be fun to see how we can integrate all of these in a single screen without changing the original product too much.

--

--